I just thought that I would let it be known that I am constantly comparing myself with others to see how I measure up fitness wise. I do it on the bike, when I run, and when I lift.

This isn’t something that I did very frequently before I began trying to get my fitness together. Now I find myself doing it all the time.

I don’t really want to look like anyone in particular but I do have some goals in mind. Maybe it is a natural progression from one phase to another, but it makes me a little uneasy.

I don’t want to be that guy. I am not a tool, jerk, douche or anything of the like. I don’t feel like I am better than anyone or I am entitled to anything. I talk about my journey because people ask and because it excites me to see how far I have come.

It is definitely weird for people to tell me that I inspire them. I just feel like I made some big and not so big changes that ultimately got me to where I am today. I guess it is a change to get positive attention and compliments.

I figure that after people get used to the new me things will calm down.

Sometimes I feel like I still see that same fat guy that I used to be. For as much as things have changed, they have stayed the same in my head.

I have done a lot of physical shrinking, but now it is time to do some growing psychologically. Being the big guy for a large portion of my life doesn’t make for a quick adjustment to the not so big guy.

Self image is a difficult mistress to conquer!

Keep it positive and keep on pushing!

Leave a Reply

