So lately I have been busy with a number of things, but the main thing I’ve been doing is riding Lacie. She has been doing really well since her foot implants (new wheelset) and I put a new booty on her too (saddle). Initially when I got the saddle I moved it to what I thought was right, but it was definitely wrong. I’ve adjusted it a few times to a more neutral/level position and my soft manly bits love me for the change.

I’ve been riding a good bit lately and am almost to 500 miles on my bike computer!…Totally went and checked my bike, and I’m at 510 after today’s ride! That definitely excites me. It prooves to me and the wife that the bike just isn’t a play thing and is a major form of exercise (I wanted to say exorcism…but that is just weird :)).

Other things that have been going on in my life are just pretty normal for the most part. Probably the most exciting thing I’ve done in the past couple of weeks was go up, this past weekend, and visit my friends up in Phoenix for a combo graduation party and my wife’s birthday! Did a lot of eating and drinking which didn’t bode well for my strict caloric intake so I ballooned up but needless to say I am back down below where I was before I left!

I have been doing my part in bring back the thumbs up in my small world of pop culture. Looking through some pictures that I’d taken recently I am giving the thumbs up. Too many people “chuck the deuces” so I’ll just thumb them instead!

I am sad to say that I didn’t make my goal for April of being down -40 but I am only 2 lbs or so from that so woot to that!

On a side note, there have been some fires in the area this week and last and that leads to gloomy rides where the mountains that are usually in view are gone! On top of old smokey is a song that I like to sing!

I’ve been trying out some nutrition stuff while on my rides and by far my favorite has been the Cliff Shot Bloks. They’re pretty easy to open while on the move, they taste good in all of the flavors that I have tried, and don’t make me gag something horrible while eating them. On the other hand, the GU ROCTANE gel squirt things are THE WORST! I will not buy another one of those if I can help it. The consistency is like honey without the good taste of it.

I was offered to go on a group night ride that leaves from the local Chipotle. I met up, randomly on a back road, with a guy and he asked me if I wanted to go and I said thanks for the invite but I actually did want to come home at some point. The night ride happens every Thursday and honestly I’m intimidated to go on a group ride. I know that there are lots of things that you should and shouldn’t do. I just don’t feel like my skills are up to par yet to even keep pace with a group. Riding in a pace line is sketchy because there are so many things that you can do wrong and cause injury and damage to property and person.  Do you have issues with riding in groups, or are you a loner, sort of, like me?

I know this post is all over the place, but thats kind of how my brain is right now! I think I got it all out….oh I rode up to my wife’s job and flipped her windshield wipers up. Immature…yes but it was a good ride and it made me feel like I was living on the edge..I’m such a rebel!

Life is good! I am blessed to have friends and family to share it with!

Leave a comment