Okay so I’ve been out of commission for a few days now due to some wacky unknown injury. I have been reduced to a one legged bunny rabbit sort of type that has to hop around on one leg to get anywhere. I’m not going to say that I’m depressed, but I definitely am very sad that I’m not as mobile as I once was.

Apparently what had happened was, I did some stuff that inflamed my Achilles tendon (either from hiking or from biking). Little known to me, but the Achilles is pretty important in your day-to-day mobility. It started to hurt on Wednesday but mildly, Thursday it was a little worse, and then Friday a little worse than that. On Saturday when I woke up, I couldn’t put any weight on it when I was trying to get out of bed. Since I couldn’t put any weight on it, I couldn’t drive my car. The wife took me to urgent care and that is where I got the bad news. The Dr. said that I should baby it for about a week and they put me on some crazy pain killers, some steroids, and a patch that would combat inflammation. We didn’t get the patch because it was going to be like $330+tax without preauthorization from my insurance company. They sent it off so hopefully I’ll hear something back about that today.

I took a sick day off of work because I still can’t drive, and it just sucks and hurts. I feel like it is getting a little better, but I’m still in a bit of pain.

WOE IS ME! I’ll be glad when I’m back at it again because currently I feel lazy, worthless, and immobile.

Glad that I actually got a ride in on Wednesday (03-23-11). It was a good one and I saw some things that I hadn’t seen from the two-wheeled perspective. The weather was great, the wind was annoying, and the traffic was light. There were some oddly steep climbs that were short like up onto bridges…etc. I’ll go get my bike computer….(hops over and gets it)…okay I’m back.

Stats:
Trip distance – 33.75
Trip time – 2:27:28
Avg speed – 13.73
Avg cadence – 77
Max speed – 32.39

My ankle didn’t even hurt when I was riding. I took some pics with my iPhone, but I didn’t upload them to the computer.

Have a good week! I hope to feel better soon.

2 responses »

  1. “Here comes Peter Cotton FAIL” ha ha! Love that title! Glad you can still have a sense of humor when you’re having something sucky going on.
    Hope your ankle heals quickly. All of this working out stuff is really inspiring, Im proud of ya!

    • Mike says:

      Yeah it helps to have a sense of humor. The wife definitely has my back and she helps get me through the sadness that is not really being able to walk.

      Working out is good when its going on, but its all about getting to doing it. I really love cycling. It makes it easy to do something that is good for you that you enjoy. Thanks for the kudosity…I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

