So yeah yeah…I’m officially older than I was a couple of days ago, and I decided that yesterday I would go out and take a ride. I hadn’t gone this far with Lacie up this road, so I decided to take her all the way up to Kartchner Caverns State Park.

It is home to some awesome cave tours. The Throne Room, and The Big Room if I recall correctly. The tour guides are pretty awesome especially the wife. She does her thing up there and she really loves it!

Some interesting things about this ride were the fact that I had to go past border patrol, which is always awkward because I want to not have to pass cars on the right, but I feel like it is my right to do so. Is it wrong to do this? The border patrol employees don’t seem to have a problem with this. When I get near the checkpoint they wave me through and then the cars come wooshing by me like they had been waiting there forever. I also saw border patrol agents with their trucks/trailers parked on the side of the road with quad/atvs and motorcross style motorcycles. Apparently they were going out in the desert to look for illegals. They were parked on the shoulder so I passed them by while they did what they were doing.

I also was passed by a mid 80s chevy towing a large buick-type car by a rope. It kind of concerned me because they passed then stopped on the shoulder. It felt a little sketchy, but as I passed them they waved me on and I kept on my way.

One especially cool thing about this ride was the fact that I got honked at and waved by one particular car giving me kudos. In this area there quite a few cyclists. It feels cool for someone else to notice and appreciate what you’re doing when you’re in the middle of a climb.

There are 3 decent climbs on the way out to Kartchner. One climb isn’t particularly steep, but it is considerably longer than the others. It is about 3/4 of a mile from beginning to end. I was surprised by my climbing yesterday because typically I stop in the middle for a breather, but I didn’t have to do that at all which makes me proud and lets me know that I’m progressing :).

Weather:
Wind – 10mph sustained with 15+mph gusts
Temperature – ~70

Traffic:
Moderate to High for this area

Stats:
Trip Distance – 21.61 mi
Trip Time – 1:29:16
Avg Speed – 14.52
Avg Cadence – 74
Max Speed – 29.97

I was trying to get to bed last night so I didn’t post. Sleep > Blog

I had a great birthday thanks to my wife and my co-workers!

Today I think I’ll try my hand at the run/walk for 30 mins with 5 min warm up again. I wonder if I’ll go farther than before in the same amount of time. I certainly hope that I do! The legs feel good so wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

