So today instead of going for a bike ride, I actually did something that I hadn’t done since we moved out here from Florida. I went to the public pool and engaged in lap swim. I probably swam about 450 yards or meters, and I couldn’t tell how long the pool was, and I didn’t ask.

Definitely out of swimming shape…actually I’m out of every shape. I’m working on getting this bloated body down so that I don’t feel like crap doing physical tasks such as running, swimming, biking… you know the cool stuff.

I think instead of joining a gym, I’ll just engage in some sort of physical activity on a daily basis for a minimum of 30 minutes. I have been watching what I eat so I think that helps too! I’m down 2.4 so far this week so yay for me! I think the hardest part about making a lifestyle change towards the healthy side is actually controlling what you eat more so than getting your physical activity in.

If you don’t know, I have been around and enjoyed water for a good portion of my life.

I actually took swimming lessons at a very young age, and I remember it vividly. It was the day that we were to jump into the deep end with life jackets on. I was SOOOO scared of doing it that I chickened out and ran home from the pool. That was the last day that I ever took swimming lessons.

Fast forward probably 3 or 4 years and there was the end of season soccer team party and everyone was in the pool swimming. Well, long story short, I ended up jumping in the pool and swimming like a fish. Feeling left out is what made me a swimmer…well that and swimming lessons.

In my teenage years during the summer, I would spend almost everyday at the swimming pool. One day the aquatics director, who knew my brother, asked me if I wanted to become a lifeguard there. I was there all the time anyway so why not make some money doing that. Lifeguarded for 4+ years (seasonal) and also became a Water Safety Instructor so I taught kids how to swim.

Also was on swim team in high school where I wasn’t the best swimmer, but I did alright for me! I miss the trips and all that we used to go on…those were the days.

All in all…I think I’ll take up swimming again on a more frequent basis. I feel like I will definitely feel it tomorrow more than anything else I have done recently.

7 responses »

  1. thebettylife says:

    Love to swim. Haven’t been in a while, I find it makes me insanely hungry afterwards!! Going for a swim this morning anyhow.

    • Mike says:

      I definitely know what you mean about being hungry after a swim.

      I am actually hungry right now, but it is too late to eat :(!

      Back in my earlier years, I would eat almost everything I could get my hands on after a day at the pool.

      Thanks for visiting my blog.

  2. I too had a similar swim lesson experience! I would love to take up swimming as a means of exercise, but that whole swim suit thing is sucky, and indoor pools at the gym are just…I dont know…creepy a little. Im just sayin.

    • Mike says:

      Lol I have body image issues, and I get all shy and such, but in general I know people don’t care and don’t say anything.

      I know sometimes they are looking at my SEXY. I am a load of brown sugar love!

  3. Sandy says:

    Good for you, I know you can do anything you put your mind to.

Leave a Reply

